At A Crossroads

Unknown

It’s another sleepless night. In order to combat my inner turmoil and strife, I’m here again venting to a computer screen. For the first time in my life, I feel at a crossroads in some really major, significant, life altering ways. It’s strange to just know that whatever decision I make, my life is going to change in a major way.

I’ve had some major epiphanies tonight. I guess most of it has come from talking with the people in my life lately. Talking with my friends has made me open my eyes to many things. The first eye opener was the fact that I don’t have to tolerate stupid ex-boyfriend in my life anymore. I don’t owe him anything. Certainly not after all the hell he’s put me through. So I got rid of him. Hands clean and conscious clear.

Next, after having lunch with a friend to celebrate her birthday I realized that in five months, I will be 33. With that I also realized it’s time to stop being afraid. It’s time to let someone new into my life. I won’t lie, this still terrifies me. But when I look back on the many guys I passed over just because I was too afraid I want to kick myself. Literally put my foot up and kick myself in the butt for being so stupid.

Then there’s school. This has been my most up and down, backwards and forwards, sideways roller coaster issue. I have never felt inadequate when it came to school. I never competed. I always took my grades as I deserved and never thought twice about it. I was okay with how I did and didn’t beat myself up about it. My mom always said as long as you did your best that’s all that matters. Yet somehow with the program I’m in my “best” isn’t good enough. I’ve never felt so discouraged and beat down about school in my entire life. When this last quarter ended I went to my mom’s house and cried because I wanted to quit so bad. I felt like this is all so pointless because I’ll never get into a grad program with my meager B+ average. I was ready to quit and see what I could do with School Counseling again. Unfortunately, I’m too damned stubborn to quit. I said I would stick with it because this is what I want to do and I can’t go back now. Oh but do I waver constantly about it. Then I find out this summer that the one person I truly connected with and related to….is leaving me. She got in to a program out-of-state. I’m happy for her but I’m also sad because nobody could relate to me like her. I’m really going to miss her and my classes will be incredibly lame and empty without her in them.

Lastly, there is the ever-present ticking of my biological clock. It’s no longer a slow tick of a clock. It has now turned into a massive alarm. Like those really annoying ones that were on clock radios. I used to not even want kids but now some instinct or whatever is pushing me to hurry up before it’s too late. Even my guy friend thinks I should pop out some kids and that I would make a great mom. I can’t help but agree with him. When I turned 30, I gave myself until 35 to find a spouse, settle down, and have children. This was because I had received my diagnosis of Endometriosis a couple of years earlier and knew time was not on my side. My doctor said I only had one good ovary at the time. Now, I just hope I’m not too late.

So yes, I am definitely at a crossroads. I have many paths laid before me and I know which one I want to take. I just hope that the future is gracious enough to lead me down those paths.

One thought on “At A Crossroads

  1. First off, I’m glad that you are kicking the stupid ex-boyfriend out of your life. You deserve so much better than what that man gave you. As for school, I can only imagine how hard it must be. Whenever I used to be upset and angry about my grades, my Mom would just remind me that at the end of the day, the 3.9 student gets the same diploma as the 2.0 and that what really sets us apart is our personality and our drive. I know the school feeling, but half the battle is doing the best that you can. If you are, how could anyone fault you? I know your Mom said something similar, but in all honesty a B+ is nothing to be ashamed of. It’s damn awesome and it will get you to wherever you are meant to go.

    I have nothing to give you on the relationship front. I’m working on building my career right now and the thought of settling down just makes me so angry after the crap that happened last year. But if having kids is something you are really being called to do, do it! Being a single mother can be hard, but it is something amazing too. And Lord knows your baby would be loved beyond measure.

    I hope the sleepless nights have been few since this was written. Stay the course, I think you are doing great. 🙂

Leave a comment