What am I doing?

What am I doing?

She asks herself daily.

Why am I here

and why do I worry?

Things are not right.

They haven’t been in a while.

Not even a funny joke

seems to make me smile.

What am I doing?

She asks herself nightly

Feeling overwhelmed

with feelings that are frightening,

frustrating, painful, and sad.

Eating her emotions

straight from the bag.

She fills the void with junk.

Salty, chocolate, and sweet.

Only caring about it later

while wallowing in her defeat.

What am I doing?

She truly wants to know.

But the power of confusion

leaves her in the shadows.

Leave a Reply

