The Joy of Christmas

Unknown-1

“It’s the most wonderful time of the year.” That is what they say about Christmas time and I have to say that I agree. Yes, the holidays can be stressful but they can also be joyful. They can be joyful after the work is done and you are finished pushing your way through the crowded malls to buy gifts. My favorite thing about Christmas is seeing the smiles on the faces of my family when they open the gifts they received. I love going to the annual Christmas program at church and listening to the holiday songs and watching the story of baby Jesus reenacted. I love that Christmas seems to have a way of bringing out the best in all of us.

People just seem so much happier around the holidays. Every television show has a Christmas themed episode. Even WordPress has got into the Christmas spirit with the snow on the site. The season makes things brighter, more colorful, and more cheerful. Perhaps it’s all the Christmas lights and holiday decorations. They seem to go up right after Thanksgiving to remind you that Christmas is right around the corner. That is how I always realize that Christmas is approaching. I’m driving down the street a day or so after Thanksgiving and then I see it. That house that has their Christmas lights up as a twinkling and blinking reminder that the holiday season is upon us.

Unknown-1

Then the Christmas tree lots start appearing on every major street in every single city. I love them. The smell of the pine needles in your home is a daily reminder that Christmas is here. Don’t you love decorating the tree? It reminds me of childhood. I’d decorate the tree every year with my mother. She’d put on the Christmas holiday songs and bake Christmas cookies. It was great and those were the moments I will keep for a lifetime. It’s also a reminder that a brief, yet necessary, respite will soon be arriving. Along with this respite will come family and maybe even friends that you don’t often get to see. For me it means more quality time with my big brother who lives two thousand miles away.

images

Life just feels different during the Christmas season. I have to say the season is infectious if you’re willing to let it in. This year, I am. This year I will not be a moody Scrooge. This year, I have much to be thankful and grateful for. This year, I want to enjoy my holiday break. I want to take it all in and create memories that I will remember forever. I want to smile and enjoy all the good things that life has to offer. Christmas time seems to allow me to do that. Maybe it’s because it’s the holiday season. Or maybe it’s because it’s the end of the year and it makes people reflective. It makes me think about the year I’ve had and all that has happened or hasn’t happened.

If you haven’t tried already, I say to make this holiday season different. Go for a drive and see the Christmas lights. Go to the Christmas lot and pick out a beautiful tree to decorate to your favorite holiday music. Lighten your heart and let go of your burdens. Enjoy friends and family and save your worries for 2013.

Leave a Reply

