Liebster Award

Shut the front door! I am so utterly stunned right now. I was nominated for the Liebster Award. Apparently this award is for new bloggers with less than 200 followers. Yeah, that about sums me up. First of all I’d like to thank Debb at http://sunshinefactor.wordpress.com for this extremely unexpected honor. I hope I get this right because I’m still unsure of what I’m doing, but here goes nothing. For this award I must list 11 things about myself. Then I must answer the 11 questions that the person who nominated me has asked. I must nominate up to 11 of my favorite new bloggers with less than 200 followers and give them 11 questions of my choosing to answer. Lastly, I must notify my nominees of their nomination. Whew, I think I got it all.

Here are 11 things to know about me:

    1. I am a Christmas baby. I was born December 22nd. What’s really freaky is that my name means “born at Christmas”. My mom just liked the name and had no idea that it would hold meaning to a Christmas baby like myself.
    2. I tend to shy away from awards and accolades. I really don’t like doing things that bring attention to myself. I’m trying to break away from this mentality and be more open. Hence, my blogging and humbly accepting this award.
    3. I am addicted to Coach handbags, sunglasses, and wallets. I know that it is a pricey addiction, but it is the only thing I will splurge on for myself.
    4. My favorite reality show is “So You Think You Can Dance”. I have watched every episode of every season, except the first season because I wasn’t into it yet. I secretly wish I could dance half as well as the dancers on that show. Although I do feel I dance better than some of the people who audition for it.
    5. I used to collect “Archie Comics”. I still have a box full of them in my storage. I loved reading about the adventures of Archie, Jughead, Betty, and Veronica. My mom was nice enough to buy one for me at the grocery store checkout line every week.
    6. I like being different. Normal is boring. I like that I don’t fit into a box though many, many, many have tried to put me into one. I feel like there is freedom in being different. I’m not confined to one thing and I’m happy for that. I don’t like to be stereotyped.
    7. I love to laugh. I have been like this ever since I was a kid. I live for a good joke, a funny show, a video that makes my stomach hurt from laughing so hard.
    8. I’m a “Gleek”. I’m a geek for the show “Glee”. I love that show. It’s funny, it different, it’s real, it’s got singing and dancing. I mean what more could you want from a show. My favorite character is Emma, the Guidance Counselor. She’s so odd, but so many of us School Counselors are. That’s why we Counsel. To be an effective School Counselor you have to be a little outside of the box.
    9. My favorite food is anything potato. I love, no LOVE, potatoes. Fried, baked, scalloped, boiled, grilled, it doesn’t matter to me. It’s such a deliciously diverse food. I will never give up my potatoes. I would rather run five miles everyday than give them up. Any diet that would exclude potatoes is not a diet for me.
    10. I played the piano for ten years. I even participated in a few recitals where I finished in 3rd place and 1st place. I haven’t “tickled the ivory” since my freshmen year of college. I wonder if I would still remember any of those skills.
    11. I consider myself a “comeback kid”. Whenever life or circumstance knocks me down I fight to get back up. The best example of this is when I was 11 and a Girl Scout. We went to a dude ranch where we got the opportunity to ride horses. Everyone was doing well with riding, including me. Then all of a sudden I started to slide off my horse for whatever reason. I rode around the circle hanging on to the side of the horse for a whole turn before someone noticed. I felt so silly because we would have to ride our horses in a show. Later when the show came around, I took my horse out. I did all the commands. The horse obeyed me perfectly. I rode well and did not fall off. In the end I ended up placing 1st. Talk about a comeback.

 

Now to answer the questions that Debb asked. Here you go:

1.  Left or right handed? Right handed.

2.  Your favorite beverage? I’m a big root beer fan.

3.  What is your number one dream job? Hmm, oh my definite dream job would be to be an artist.

4.  Women:  do you love to collect:  shoes, purses, or something else (if so, what)? You must’ve read my mind.  As stated earlier I collect Coach handbags.

5.  Men:  do you take your lady to chick flicks for her sake, or do you tell her to go with her girlfriends?

6.  When you close your eyes and count to 20, let’s say, how do you see the numbers in your mind – in a straight line from left to right, up and down like a graph, or going from bottom left to top right – or something else? I see them flashing, one at a time, like a countdown, in bright white light.

7.  Favorite color?  (If you’re like me, you have one special one and a subset of runner-ups.  Sorry, please narrow it down to your very, very favorite.) Definitely blue.

8.  Are you a morning (mourning) dove or a night owl? I am such a night owl.

9.   Do/did you have siblings, or are you an only? I have an older brother and an older sister.

10.  Describe your favorite type of ink pen in full glorious detail. My favorite ink pen has blue ink in it. It is retractable with the push down button on the very top. The outside top and bottom are also blue. The center is clear and you can see the springs and amount of ink in it. The ink comes out thick and a little runny because it’s a gel pen. I really love that pen.

11.  Are you able to humor me here and answer these questions and pass them on?  Absolutely!

 

Now for the fun part. I get to nominate up to 11 of my favorite bloggers for the Liebster Award. Here are the rules for you again. You must tell 11 things about yourself. You must answer my questions. Nominate up to 11 of your favorite new bloggers with less than 200 followers. I know it’s hard to tell how many followers bloggers have but try your best to find the under 200 newbies. Make sure that you leave your nominees 11 questions of your choosing to answer. Also, don’t forget to inform your nominees of the award nomination. Okay here are my 11 questions to my nominees:

    1. What is your favorite book?
    2. If you could do anything you wanted, without regard to money or time, then what would you do?
    3. Chocolate, vanilla, or strawberry?
    4. Do you have any pets?
    5. What’s the most outrageous thing you’ve ever done?
    6. What is something no one else, or very few people, know about you?
    7. What is the name of your best friend and how long have you been friends?
    8. What is your favorite holiday?
    9. What was your least favorite subject in school?
    10. Who is your celebrity crush? Only one please.
    11. What is your favorite food?

I have picked these bloggers for the Liebster Award because I find their blogs refreshing in their honesty. They are all different blogs but the truth in their writing is what ties them together. It is also what makes me enjoy reading their posts. Drumroll please. Here are my nominees for the Liebster Award:

lalasworldblog.wordpress.com

inkedpen.wordpress.com

discoveringdifferent.wordpress.com

recipesforbadromances.wordpress.com

lifeandendo.wordpress.com

iamtoofree.com

singlegirlla.wordpress.com

musingsofadisturbedmind.wordpress.com

abrainwithfeet.wordpress.com

Don’t forget the rules for the award. To my fellow newbies: You make my time as a blogger worthwhile. I enjoy reading your posts. They make me laugh, they make me happy, they make me sad, they make me think, they make me believe. Now, go forth and spread the love to your favorite new bloggers. 🙂

5 thoughts on “Liebster Award

  1. Natalie! What a wonderful response! I LOVED reading your answers! Thank you for accepting; one other time I gave awards and hardly anyone answered or “got it”. I’m not sure I know what I’m doing either, as I am a newbie myself. But, you did a great job! I love your writing style. Happy Thanksgiving! Debb

  2. Pingback: Liebster Blog Award « I am Too Free

  3. Reblogged this on Lala's world and commented:
    Recently I was nominated for the Liebster Award, this award is for up and coming bloggers with less than 200 .Thank you very much for nominatingme @ https://turtlegirl22.wordpress.com/2012/11/21/liebster-award/. So now I have to 11 things to knowabout me answer 11 questions and nominate 11 other bloggers so here I go:

    1. favorite types of movie: I loves comedies, ive ctually watched movies that made me laugh so much,I drooled on myself.sooo embarassing!
    2. I love watching The key and peele show on comedy central, its one ofthose shows i loveto watch andhas that hilarious factor that makes melaugh till i droole
    3.I hate reality show… but love t watch them. I know that does not make sense, but Ijust cant help it
    4. If a personcan make me laugh… I will automaticlly LOVE you.. laughter to me is eveythng, and i just tend to gravate towards people who are weid and funny.
    5. I am very shy.. Ive actually im trying to break out of my box, or shell, or whatever you call it and bemore sociable to people.
    6. I hate that awrad moment when you are trying to step aside for someone and they step directly in your way, and it goes on for a few second.. yeah thats really annoying
    7. I wish I was more socialable towards people, being quiet and shy people mistakethat for bitchness
    8. I feel guilty about abonding my blogfor so long..Ive been soo busy
    9. I love kids and one day i hope to have a football team of kids( not literally).
    10. I look forward to my wedding day, secretly I have it all planned out in my head but im not telling annyone that .
    11. I look forward to friday every monday, and i dread sundays cause mondays come after.
    here are the questions i was asked:
    1.What is your favorite book?
    A thousand splendid suns by Khale Housseinni
    2.If you could do anything you wanted, without regard to money or time, then what would you do?
    I wouldtravel the whole planet
    3.Chocolate, vanilla, or strawberry?
    I love them all. I dont discriminate lol
    4.Do you have any pets?
    Umm no, I actually have a huge fear of certain animals.
    5.What’s the most outrageous thing you’ve ever done?
    I have stolen a ten cent bubble gum from a store.
    6.What is something no one else, or very few people, know about you?
    I dont like to show emotions o talk about them, but I wish i had someone to share my emotions with and talk too.
    7.What is the name of your best friend and how long have you been friends?
    well, im going to nickname him “Doug” and we have been friends for about four years
    8.What is your favorite holiday?
    CHRISTMAS
    9.What was your least favorite subject in school?
    MATH
    10.Who is your celebrity crush? Only one please.
    Harry Styles from one direction
    11.What is your favorite food?
    Anything with pasta, and lots of meat.

  4. Pingback: Lala's world

  5. Reblogged this on sidestinkappleeye and commented:
    Lala’s World Blog http://lalasworldblog.wordpress.com/
    Nominiated me for the Libster Award. I am honored because I admire Lala’ World blog, it’s awesome.

    The award is for new bloggers with less than 200 followers. As part of this I list 11 things about myself and answer 11 questions the person that nominated me asked. As well as nominate up to 11 bloggers myself.

    I’ll just answer the questions lala’s World blog did:
    1.What is your favorite book?

    This is real tough for me I really loved Through the Eyes of the Dragon by Stephen King but also have a great love for The Color Purple by Alice Walker.

    2.If you could do anything you wanted, without regard to money or time, then what would you do?

    Since money would be no problem, I could spend the time I would have working helping others.

    3.Chocolate, vanilla, or strawberry?

    Strawberry on the bottom, vanilla in the middle, and chocolate on top. Then the whipped cream and the cherry. ;-D

    4.Do you have any pets?

    No, I have a hard enough time affording feeding my kids, not to mention the messes.

    5.What’s the most outrageous thing you’ve ever done?

    Accidentally set a bush on fire while playing with matches as a kid.

    6.What is something no one else, or very few people, know about you?

    I have the song, You Belong with Me by Taylor Swift on my mp3 player.

    7.What is the name of your best friend and how long have you been friends?

    I won’t mention her name but we have been friends since 1990.

    9.What was your least favorite subject in school?

    P.E.

    10.Who is your celebrity crush?

    Usher

    11.What is your favorite food?

    Orange Chicken

    Some things about me:

    1.If I’m watching TV or movies, I prefer comedies. Drama and action are ok but life is serious enough as it is. I like to laugh.

    2.I don’t have time to read as much as I’d like to. My list of to read books has been neglected lately. I do add to it occasionally.

    3. I can have a great day in my house alone the whole day. As I have a husband and 6 kids, quiet is a rare treat for me.

    4. My favorite shows I will make sure to watch, even if online are: The Daily Show, The Colbert Report, The Real Housewives of Atlanta.

    5.My favorite fast food is Pizza Fries from a place called Egee’s in Arizona where I grew up.

    6. Three things I have wanted to learn and have not yet are: Playing piano, Playing guitar and sewing.

    7.I was born in the summertime and really do not like being cold. Summer is my favorite time of year.

    8. I did not learn how to swim until I was 13 years old. I was afraid of drowning from age 5 when I almost drowned in a swimming pool.

    9.I wish I had better fashion sense. All my friends and family tell me I dress quite plainly. I’m getting better.

    10. I have been with my husband for 19 years. It still a pleasant suprise that we have been able to work through so many trials and stay together so long. I hope we can do this for life. I love him so much.

    11.Chocolate is my kryptonite.

    I nominate:

    Christ! Xmas
    http://christxmas.wordpress.com/

    loudblkgirl
    http://loudblkgirl.wordpress.com/2012/02/

    The Female Voter

    http://thefemalevoter.org/2012/07/

    Questions for Women
    http://questionsforwomen.org/

    Framestoframe
    http://framestoframe.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

