The Politics of Race in the United States

I can’t help but be greatly saddened and embarrassed at the state of the U.S. at the moment. November 6, 2012 was the day we voted for the President of our United States of America. Yet, as we went in to vote, the United States couldn’t have been more divided. Some were for the left, while others were for the right. Some were Democrats and others were Republicans. Somehow, while going into the booth to vote we forgot to realize that we all are American. For many of us, election night was about voting for who had the best policies to move the country forward in the way we think it should go. For others, the election was solely a matter of racial politics.

How do I know this? I have seen it all over social media and mainstream media. Riot’s, vicious threats, and racist name calling. I refuse to repeat the words that others have said because I refuse to contribute to spreading messages of hate. Since when did we regress to such barbaric and impertinent ways of handling dissatisfaction?

I am deeply saddened to admit that I have not been immune to the politics of race in the United States. I, like our President, have been called highly inappropriate and disgustingly racist names. So have my parents, my siblings, my grandparents, and so forth. It pains me to know that if I should ever make the decision to bring children into this world they will also have the tumultuous burden of being labeled “different”. I will have to sit them down and explain why they were called that name by that kid at school. I will have to explain why the store owner was watching them while they shop. I will have to constantly reassure them that the mistakes of others do not reflect on them when they, in fact, do in the eyes of others. I will have to do these things, not because I want to, but because I will be forced to. I will be forced to do this because the United States is not united. I will be forced to do this because the United States cannot get past a person’s skin color and this terrifies me.

I am Black. This is a part of me, but it is not all of me. I am a woman. I am a student. I am a writer. I am an artist. I am an aunt. I am a friend. I love. I fight. I struggle. I breathe and bleed just as you do. Does this make me any less? Does it make our President of the United States any less qualified to run the country solely because he is Black?

How can the race of one man be that important to you? What does that say about who you are? What does that say about your character? What does that say about what you will breed, teach, and spread to the world?

I can only hope the rest of the world is watching and shaking their heads at the idiocy that is occurring in certain parts of the U.S. There are people in New Jersey and New York with no lights, no home, no food, mourning the loss of loved ones and all you care about is a Black man in office. What a disgrace you are to America. The real America that I hope exists under the racist rants and rhetoric. The America that I call home. The America that I want to be proud to be a part of and not apart from.

As I stated last night on my social media, “The results are in. The decision has been made. Let us all take a step back and let the President of the United States do his job.”

2 thoughts on “The Politics of Race in the United States

  1. I can’t believe in this day’n’age people are still racist .. can’t they just get over it?
    colour means nothing, what you look like doesn’t make you better than anyone else
    it saddens me as well

    you sound like a very sensible girl :)x

Leave a Reply

