It’s So Hard to Say Goodbye…to Counseling

“How do I say goodbye to what we had?
The good times that made us laugh
Outweigh the bad.
I thought we’d get to see forever
But forever’s gone away
It’s so hard to say goodbye to yesterday.”

This weekend I wrote a post on my Facebook page that said, “Natasha _______ is starting to come to terms with the fact that I am having to say goodbye to life as a School Counselor 😦 ”

The responses from friends and family varied from relief to sadness to sympathy to understanding.

I’ve been in a state of denial over the last few months. I couldn’t quite accept that becoming a Speech Language Pathologist means leaving School Counseling behind. This would mean no more class scheduling, no more listening to student’s as they reveal parts of their life they want to keep secret, no more being an integral part of a school community. I will miss helping students. I will miss attending graduations. I will miss chaperoning dances and field trips. I will miss a lot of things.

If you’ve read My Atypical Life As A School Counselor or To be lost…and found??? then you know that my career has not been easy. Yet, despite this, it is still hard to let go of my life as a School Counselor. Counseling is in my blood. I can’t help it anymore than I can help breathing. At my university I find myself helping my classmates sort through decisions all the time. One even commented that I was really good at this Counseling thing and she couldn’t understand why my school district let me go. I just had to laugh. If I had a dollar for every person who told me that I probably wouldn’t even need to work.

I am saying goodbye to my Counseling career, but I am not saying goodbye to my Counseling skills. My experience and knowledge as a School Counselor will not go to waste. I know that it will be helpful as I enter the world of SLP’s. I have sat on enough IEP’s as a School Counselor to know that parents sometimes need guidance, understanding, and an advocate too. Especially a parent of a child with special needs.

The state I reside in requires School Counselor’s to renew their credentials every five years. I renewed mine and will continue to renew it because in Education you just never know when a career change may be in order. Although, I do believe that once I begin working as an SLP I will never have to look for another career. SLP’s are in such high demand for whatever reason. There I go again with my internal struggle to fully let go of life as a School Counselor. I can’t help it. One of my interns who I trained to become a School Counselor commented on my Facebook post. She said she feels like we should have a funeral or something. I responded that the tombstone would read here lies Natasha’s School Counseling career 2004-2012. I also suggested we put the crazy things kids said to me like Ernest’s outburst of “I hate lady Counselors” and the 2nd graders note that said, “Dear Ms. ______ you are an a**hole.” What a great way to sum up a career eh? Kids are crazy sometimes and as a School Counselor if you weren’t laughing about it, then you were surely crying about it. I chose to laugh.

Laughing is what I will continue to do as I put that part of my life to rest. I will smile, share my crazy stories, and just laugh.

I will remember my time as a School Counselor as a time where I did much growing up and self reflection. I will remember graduate school and the friends I made that I still have. I will remember my professor’s who made profound impacts on me. I will remember learning from others and then having others learn from me.

I choose to remember life as a School Counselor positively because in the end being a School Counselor taught me that we make profound impacts on each other lives with our words and actions and we must use them carefully.

Leave a Reply

