Too Much Information + Over Sharing = Social Media

 

 

I have a friend who is completely anti-Facebook. She refuses to use it and finds it pointless. The people she wants to stay in contact with have her phone number and/or email. They know her address and where to find her. Her husband, on the other hand, is completely addicted to social media. He posts everything he does on his Facebook page. Pictures of their son, their wedding, and family parties are all out there for everyone to see.

I can see both of their point of views. I do like social media, but only to a certain extent. I hate that people can stalk you. I hate that people tend to share too much at times in their life. I hate that people expose too much of themselves, both literally and figuratively. I do like that you can keep in contact with old acquaintances and family members. It’s a one stop place for you to share important pictures with those closest to you.

Let’s go back to the over-exposed Facebook users for a minute. I’m all for self-confidence and self-love. I’m all for feeling beautiful and wanting to share those warm and fuzzy feelings about yourself with others. Well, I’m okay with it occasionally. Sometimes people just take it a little too far for me. I have a Facebook friend who posts pictures of herself on a daily basis. Sometimes two or three times a day. Yes, you’re 31 and you’re fabulous. We get it! I love it. I love that you love yourself. That you still feel like a hot tamale. What I don’t get is why you feel like you have to share this constantly with everyone else?  I’m tired of seeing your boobs plastered across my computer screen every time I look at my newsfeed. Yes, I’m sure her male friends love it and love her for it. But me, I could do without the flashing.

I mean there has to be other pictures that she can post. Friends, family, her son, pets, someone else’s boobs for a change. Okay maybe not the last one. I mean I’m all for social media. What I’m not for is over sharing. Yet, this is what people tend to do with social media. Some things just shouldn’t be shared with people who barely know you. Like your boobs, for example.

Then there are those people who post entirely too much information about themselves. If you are having a bowel movement, then I don’t want to know all about it. If you are sick and “it is coming out of both ends” I don’t want to read about it. Yes, someone actually posted this and it made it to my newsfeed. There is such a thing as too much information and I think this qualifies. Not everything was meant to be made for public consumption. Some things should definitely be kept secret.

Yet, this seems to be the lure of social media. It seems to have become a place where there are no ground rules. It’s anything goes. Social media has somehow turned into the Las Vegas of the internet. Except what happens on social media doesn’t always stay within the confines of social media. Can you say Anthony Weiner? It can get back to your family, your friends, your enemies, your “frenemies”, your boss, or your clients. It can even make the evening news as in former congressman Weiner’s case. There has to be a boundary between our personal life and our life on social media. There really is a difference. One is the real you. The other is the you that you want people to see.

For me the social media equation is this: TMI + OS = SM. What would your social media equation look like?

3 thoughts on “Too Much Information + Over Sharing = Social Media

  1. haha this post made me giggle, i think perhaps we have the same girl on our facebook because i too have a friend that does that exact same thing .. i’m a little bored of it, it seems too attention seeking?

    • Exactly! Although since I wrote this post I haven’t seen this persons boobs on my newsfeed. Lately the pictures have been aimed higher to her face. So I’m happy about that. I just hope it lasts.

Leave a Reply

