Breast Cancer Awareness

October is breast cancer awareness month. Breast cancer has affected so many women in my life and the women in my friend’s lives it is unbelievable. I have seen so many strong, beautiful, vibrant women taken down by this disease. My mom, my co-worker, my aunt, my cousin…..these are just a few of the women I know who have had to battle this deadly disease. While I have used my blog to stay hidden and anonymous, because of my support to end this disease, I want to come out of hiding to let the world know that October is breast cancer awareness month! If you are a woman make sure you get your annual checkups. If you are a woman over 40 make sure to get your mammogram. If you are in your teens, 20’s, or 30’s let’s be healthier. Eat good for you food. Exercise regularly. These things help fight cancer. I had my first mammogram at 30. Yes, it was a painful and awkward experience. It was also a necessary experience. A few awkward moments are worth it to know that I am cancer free. I have decided that for the entire month, I am wearing my pink ribbon in support of breast cancer awareness. I would ask that anyone reading this do something to shed light on breast cancer awareness. Raise money, participate in a marathon, wear pink, post on social media. It doesn’t have to be big. It just has to make a difference. 

 

One thought on “Breast Cancer Awareness

  1. Hi, thanks for making this statement. I am a three year breast cancer survivor and appreciate all the support people have given to me and to “the cause” and pink ribbons, etc. I talk about it on one of my blogs, debbieloeselstanton.wordpress.com (formerly cancerchatroom.wordpress.com). I agree, we should all be aware of positive things we can do to prevent breast cancer. Thanks again, Debb

Leave a Reply

