Insomnia

Don’t you just hate it when you want to go to sleep, but you can’t.

Well that is exactly where I am at. It is almost 3:00 am and I’m still awake. I have a slight headache which tells me my mind needs some rest. However, every time I close my eyes sweet sleep evades me. It has been like this for the last week for me. I lay in bed preparing for sweet slumber and instead I receive a constant barrage of thoughts that make me toss and turn for most of the night.

I’ve always been what my mother calls a “night owl”. I prefer to stay up late rather than wake up early in the morning. That has never changed. I hated waking up before the sun or to the sound of chirping birds outside of my window. It just seemed so unnatural to me as a teenager.

In college, I made sure I never had to take a class before 10:00 am and I didn’t until my last year. There is always that one last requirement that throws off your plan to party all night and sleep most of the day. For me, that was a class at 8:00 am. I wonder……………was the same class that they held in the movie theatre and I somehow fell asleep in those comfy theatre seats, without realizing I had fallen asleep for a few minutes, and woke up to a room full of people staring at me and my professor holding out a cup of coffee from the podium on stage asking if I wanted some??? Hmmm, perhaps it it was. At the time I was too tired to even be embarrassed about it. Plus, I had just woken up and had no idea what was occurring around me.

Speaking of college, I have my first Speech Pathology class tomorrow. Thankfully it isn’t until 4:20 pm so this bout of insomnia I’m having will not affect my performance in the class. Is that what is keeping me awake? True, I’m a little nervous. It’s been a while since I’ve been inside a lecture hall. Plus, I think I may be the oldest person there which has advantages and disadvantages. On the plus side I know what to expect because I’ve been here before. On the minus side maybe things have changed since I was last in school. Do students even use a pen and paper to take notes anymore?

I thought blogging about what I felt would help with my insomnia and thus far, it has not. My mind is still crowded with thoughts and ideas. So many…too many, to type at once.

Some people say that they do their best thinking in the middle of the night and I have to agree I am one of them. My best thoughts, ideas, inspirations will always come to me when I’m trying to sleep.

Alas, I feel the drowsiness of sweet slumber now that it is quickly approaching 4:00 am. Goodnight!

4 thoughts on “Insomnia

Leave a Reply

