I Heart Art

My first love has always been art. I grew up in the 80’s and 90’s when being creative and doing art in class wasn’t considered useless. I lived and learned in a time when teachers could do art projects for more than the upcoming holiday. These were the pre NCLB days. I’ve decided to share some of my art from childhood on up to recent art projects.

Nubian Queen

This was one of my first drawings I ever did. I think I was about 9 when I drew this from a picture I saw.

Abstract inspired by car crash scene from “The Grapes of Wrath”

This was a project I did in high school for an art class. Best class I ever took. It was also when I fell in love with abstract art because I was absolutely horrible  at sunsets. We had to paint a scene from “The Grapes of Wrath” and this was what I chose. Yeah, it’s a little morbid.

My Sketchers

My favorite sketch. Hands down.

I did these my junior year of college from a drawing class I took. They are my absolute favorite sketches and definitely my best.

My abstract collage of all things me.

This was a painting I did in my graduate program. We had to bring something that told other people who we were. I decided to create a painting that expressed all that I am in words and pictures. At the top and bottom are words that I and others would use to describe me. In the middle are pictures of things that represent me.

So there you have it. My journey in art. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

