Might as well face it you’re addicted to…..

BOOKS!?!?

Is that even possible? How can I be addicted to books? Not drugs. Not alcohol. Not sex. Books???

Okay so it’s true. Hello, my name is ___________ and I’m addicted to books. I love them.

Over the summer I just couldn’t seem to put my kindle down. Oh, don’t even get me started on eReaders, which may just be the best invention ever! I received mine as my Christmas/Birthday gift almost a year ago and I haven’t put it down since.

I’ve had a love affair with books ever since I can remember. I think it started with my mom. She used to read a book to me every night before I went to bed. Then when I started school, Reading and Spelling were my two favorite subjects. As I got older and hit puberty, reading became an outlet for all the angst. In high school and college reading was put on the back burner for parties, the opposite sex, work, and school. I didn’t get back into books again until I met some other “bookaholics” in graduate school and we formed a book club. The obsession to read again took off from there.

I know a lot of people will look at this post and think I am absolutely insane to love books so much. In response, I would say you must be insane not to. I can’t think of a better feeling than getting so wrapped up in a book that you can’t put it down until you discover how it’s going to end.

I know it is so very nerdy to admit to being addicted to books, but I don’t care! I embrace my inner nerd and my bookish tendencies. It’s because I like to read that I’ve made it this far in my life. My brain gets a great workout. I laugh. I cry. I empathize. Books make me a better person.

Let’s not run from books. Let’s embrace them. Try to find a book that you might be interested in reading. If you’re not sure, get recommendations from friends or family. I promise you….if you give a book a try, you will not be sorry.

Here is a list of some of my all time favorite books:

  • The Scarlet Letter
  • 1984
  • The Grapes of Wrath
  • The Hunger Games
  • The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo
  • Invisible Man
  • The Great Gatsby
  • The Help
  • A Thousand Splendid Suns
  • The Book Thief
  • The Holy Bible

 

Are you open to becoming a “bookaholic”? Why or why not?

Leave a Reply

